2020 was a tumultuous year, filled with good times and bad. In 2020, I lost a friend and former co-worker to the COVID-19 pandemic, and my 18-year relationship with Angie came to an end. A series of horrible events were later followed by the eventual dawning of a new relationship along with new opportunities, and a new house, all of which gave me a new perspective on life. Here is a summary of some of the most notable events of 2020, as chronicled on my blog. The events are in chronological order, beginning in January 2020 and ending in December. My hope is to create a new year in review with each and every passing year, and these posts can be found under the Year In Review Category.

(I was going to write something that effectively summerized 2020, but with only a few hours remaining, I decided to just give a nod to this post at Framesoflifeblog.)

January 2020

My first ever visit to Dilley, Texas.

February 2020

My photograph of The Eagles’ Nest in Stamford, New York was published in The Mountain Eagle Newspaper.

March 2020

I took this iconic picture of an abandoned desk covered in papers.

April 2020

I took this iconic picture of The Holiday Motel near Howes Cave, New York, United States.

May 2020

I used to pass by this old, partially restored New York Central System locomotive on US-20 near Guilderland, New York, United States.

The piece titled, Belong was written in May of 2020, and was added to my Cornerstone Content.

June 2020

Camp Chateaugay was closed due to COVID-19, but still had spots available for alumni visits. In June 2020, I spent a week at my old summer camp.

A Little Ghost For The Offering became more than another piece that was written, published on my blog, and added to my Cornerstone Content. It was eventually read by Amelia, who in the latter part of 2020 became my girlfriend.

July 2020

I ended my 18-year relationship with Angie Conklin in July of 2020, and temporarily stayed with my mom. I mention how some changes are imminent in A Week At Camp.

August 2020

My first visit to Moosehead, Maine, United States took place in August 2020.

September 2020

I met Amelia‘s parents, and she graciously took me to see some of the amazing industrial abandonment of her home town.

On a day trip to Kingston, New York, United States, I photographed this iconic fiberglass elephant in the pouring rain behind an industrial complex.

I spent a few days visiting my childhood friend Keith in Buffalo, New York, United States, and after we were unreasonably denied access to photograph The Buffalo Central Terminal, we instead went to the local CSX rail yard to photograph running trains.

I purchased my forever home in Middletown Springs, Vermont on September 21, 2020! An article was later published on Patch.com.

October 2020

In October 2020, I photographed Makayla Martinez in Burlington, Vermont, United States.

Later in October 2020, I took iconic photographs of Makayla in a wedding dress while she was standing in the Poultney River in Middletown Springs, Vermont, United States. An article in Patch.com followed.

November 2020

Amelia and I began to explore and photograph nearby towns in Vermont, specifically places like the Fair Haven Depot.

…And then Chester Depot. Amelia’s pictures are here.

Amelia wrote this amazing piece for my Press Kit, titled What Makes A Getty Images Photographer?

December 2020

I wrote I’m Going Through Changes one cold December morning in Vermont, which was also added to my Cornerstone Content.

Jonathan Oldham became my latest narrator, and read I Used To Worry About Rain, effectively replacing Kai Beck.

With the exception of my new relationship with Amelia, the most exciting moment in 2020 was when my very first photographs were published by Patch.com.

I am looking forward to my new life here in Vermont, with Amelia. Please be sure to follow her on Twitter, and read her blog.

23 thoughts on “2020 In Review

  1. I’m so blessed to have met you when I did, Thomas! Thank you for making 2020, a year that began as my worst on earth, a year worth celebrating for all the wonderful things I gained. Thanks to you, I truly have been able to rise from the ashes like a Phoenix, just as I hoped would inevitably happen 🙂
    Amelia Desertsong recently posted..Taking FlightMy Profile

  2. Yeah I support you point. 2020 has been a tumultuous year. All I need say is thank you God.

  3. Wow, 2020 truly a year to rekone with for so many memories. I can remember most of this pictures you have here, just a few I can say I haven’t seen. Great year indeed

  4. Well, sorry for your loss, some of us also lost people dear to our heart. Also you got great achievements in the year, be grateful man

  5. Though this year may be a very tough year for all of us, I am still very grateful and blessed knowing that my family are healthy. I was able to keep my job and provide for my family.

  6. In a personal take this year has been hard for everyone. This has been weird, wacky at times goes bonkers. It is definitely unforgettable though. I hope 2021 will be better. We all need it to be.

  7. 2020 was one annoying year , I just need to put it behind me. A new year is here and I am hoping for just the best. We move

  8. Very unique pictures, the concepts that you show through them, and the way how you choose the topics are very particular and show your artistic side.

  9. I was almost frustrated this year but I had to keep my head up. Good that it has gone for good, can’t deal with another year like this

  10. Despite all the challenges, you still managed to take some wonderful photos. That’s very inspiring.

  11. What better way to end 2020 than with some nice highlights from the year that has been? Many thanks for sharing this Thomas.

  12. The ‘I’m Going Through Changes’ piece was my favorite from 2020. That was a classic right there.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: